Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

Florida Safety Laws For Pick-Up Trucks

Several unique Florida laws are in place to address safety for riding in pickup truck cabs or the truck bed to encourage safe driving on Florida’s roads.

Cab Safety

The Florida law pertaining to cab safety, F.S. 316.614, states that the driver of a pickup truck and passengers under 18 years old must wear a seat belt. Further, the number of front-seat passengers required by law to wear a safety belt may not exceed the number of seat belt restraints installed by the truck’s manufacturer. This means that a driver and any child riding in the front seat cannot be double buckled with another passenger.

Riding in the Truck Bed

The Florida law pertaining to riding in the bed of a pickup truck, F.S. 316.2015, states:

  • Persons 18 years and older may ride unrestrained in the bed of a truck.
  • A child may ride in the bed of a truck with an adult only in a medical emergency.
  • Each county in Florida may exempt children from this law, with a majority vote and public hearing. In other words, counties could independently allow minors to ride in the bed of a truck. Check your county’s rules.

Meldon Law is Here to Help

Do you still have questions about how to ride safely in a pickup truck? Contact our office for more information, and we are happy to assist you. At Meldon Law, you matter most.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 Meldon Law. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.