Close Menu

What Does Capping in a Med Mal Case Mean?

As an experienced med mal attorney and sports fan, perhaps the easiest way to explain a cap in a lawsuit is to look at sports. The National Football League places a “salary cap” on all of its teams, which means that no team may spend more than a certain amount of money when putting its roster together. In other words, there is a “cap” or limit as to how much money a team can spend.

The same principle holds true with lawsuit caps. Some damages awards are “capped” by law, which means there is a limit placed on how much money a jury may award a plaintiff for his injuries. For example, a plaintiff whose damages are “capped” at $500,000 will collect that amount at a maximum. If the jury awards two million dollars in damages that are capped, the plaintiff receives the $500,000 capped amount. If the jury awards $200,000 in damages that are capped, the plaintiff receives the awarded $200,000, not the $500,000 cap.

Basically, a “cap” is a limit or ceiling of the damages award in a lawsuit.

For more information:

If you feel you have been injured by a doctor or someone working in a health care facility, you may be wondering if you have a case or not and if you need a attorney.

If you have a legitimate case, with serious injuries, you will need an experienced medical malpractice attorney to navigate the powerful medical insurance world in order to be fairly compensated.

For over 40 years the experienced attorneys at Meldon Law have been helping victims of medical malpractice get compensated for the harm done to them.

If you or a loved one has experienced an injury due to medical malpractice, contact the Gainesville office of Meldon Law today. Consultations are free!

Since 1971, we have represented medical malpractice victims from: Gainesville, Ocala, Lake City, Inverness, Palatka, Inverness, Crystal River, Daytona Beach, Interlachen, Spring Hill, Dunnellon, Bunnell, Live Oak, Starke, Jasper, Cross City, Perry, Trenton, Leesburg, Lake Butler, Tavares, Chiefland, Bronson, Brooksville, The Villages and the counties of Alachua County, Marion County, Columbia County, Citrus County, Volusia County, Sumter County, Levy County, Lake County, Bradford County, Flagler County, Hamilton County, Dixie County, Gilchrist County, Union County, Hernando County, Suwannee County, Union County and Putnam County.

Remember: If you can’t come to us – We will come to you.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn