WWE Star Arrested For DUI For The Second Time In 2 Years
Ideally, someone would commit a crime and learn from it instead of continuing to repeat the same offense over and over. However, some commit the same crime multiple times. This is especially common when it comes to DUIs. And even celebrities and sports stars are not immune to punishment.
A star of World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) has been arrested for DUI once again. This is the third time total, with two DUIs in the past two years. Jonathan Fatu—more commonly known as Jimmy Uso—was arrested for DUI on the evening of July 5 in Pensacola in Escambia County. He is half of the Uso tag team, which features his twin brother, Jey Uso.
The 35-year-old wrestler’s breath tests were calculated at 0.202 and 0.205—more than 2.5 times the state’s legal limit of 0.08. He was pulled over after running a red light and speeding. He was traveling 50 miles per hour in an area where the speed limit was 35 miles per hour. When he got pulled over, he told police officers he drank multiple beers.
Officers smelled alcohol on Uso’s breath, so they asked him to get out of his Dodge Charger and perform sobriety tests. His constant swaying caused him to fail his field sobriety tests. He was arrested and charged with a misdemeanor. He was also given traffic citations for running a red light and speeding. He was still in jail the next morning, but has since been released after paying a $500 bond.
This was not Uso’s first DUI arrest. In July 2019, he was arrested for DUI in the same county. Five month later, he was found not guilty, even though he was driving 86 miles per hour in an area with a speed limit of 45 miles per hour. He had a previous DUI charge in 2011 in Hillsborough County.
Enhanced DUI in Florida
Given that Uso’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was above 0.15, he will likely face enhanced charges. This means that he could face up to nine months in prison. A person could also face enhanced charges if this is their second or subsequent DUI. The charge could be elevated to a first-degree misdemeanor if there was a passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle or an accident with property damage. In these cases, a person can face up to one year in jail.
Other penalties may apply. A person could be forced to pay fines as high as $2,000. They may also have their license revoked for up to one year. They may be required to get an ignition interlock device or perform community service.
Contact Us Today
If you have been arrested for DUI, it’s important that you learn your lesson and take the appropriate steps to avoid subsequent DUIs. The punishment increases each time, and you could lose your license.
Florida law makes a DUI a criminal offense. Get the best outcome possible with help from the Florida DUI defense attorneys at Meldon Law. Call (800) 373-3000 or fill out the online form to schedule a free consultation. We have three offices to serve you: Gainesville, Ocala, and Fort Lauderdale.