Realtor Charged With DUI In Delray Beach
Having a few alcoholic drinks may seem a good idea when you’re socializing with others and having fun, but the after effects—such as getting pulled over by police—can really ruin your night. A Florida Realtor is finding this out the hard way after receiving several citations for his behavior while driving drunk.
The real estate agent was arrested and booked into jail just after midnight on December 4 in Delray Beach. He was pulled over after driving his Honda into a bicycle lane three times in the area of 1400 SW 10th Street. He received another ticket for speeding and a third ticket for refusing to provide a breath sample. For this offense, he was required to surrender his driver’s license for violating Florida’s implied consent law.
The man was released on his own recognizance six hours later. He is expected to be in court at a later date.
When a Real Estate Broker Is Arrested for a DUI
Real estate broker licenses in Florida are governed by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). Any convictions that appear on your criminal record must be reported to the DBPR within a specific time period.
While there are usually no penalties just for being arrested, you will want to avoid a conviction. A conviction of a crime such as a DUI could lead to a real estate license suspension or revocation. Your case will be handled by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC), which will impose penalties based on the circumstances surrounding your case as well as the type of crime. You could face punishment regardless of whether or not the crime was related to your duties as a real estate agent.
State law allows the FREC to discipline real estate brokers convicted of any misdemeanor or felony. A DUI is considered a misdemeanor. Real estate brokers could face various penalties for a DUI in Florida such as suspension of their license for up to 10 years, revocation of their license, and administrative fines of up to $5,000.
Punishment under the Florida Administrative Code also applies. A first offense is punishable by suspension of a real estate license for at least 30 days. A fine of up to $1,000 also applies. Additional offenses are punishable by a license suspension or revocation, with fines between $1,000 and $5,000.
Contact Us Today
Motorists often don’t realize how much alcohol affects their judgment and their ability to drive. Even just one or two drinks can cause your blood alcohol content (BAC) to spike.
DUI charges are penalized harshly. Don’t delay—contact the Florida DUI defense lawyers at Meldon Law today. We are very familiar with Florida’s criminal justice system and can assist you with both the criminal and administrative aspects of your case. To schedule a consultation, fill out the online form or call (800) 373-3000. We have three offices to serve you: Gainesville, Ocala, and Fort Lauderdale.