Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Personal Injury & DUI Attorneys > Blog > Head On Collisions > 2 Killed In Head-On Crash On SR-60

2 Killed In Head-On Crash On SR-60


There are many ways in which vehicles can crash. A head-on accident is the most catastrophic and deadly.

Sadly, a recent head-on crash in Osceola County took the lives of two people. The fatal crash happened on the morning of June 15 at State Road 60 and Peavine Road.

A 63-year-old man was driving a sedan west on SR-60, near Peavine Road. At the same time, a 36-year-old from Groveland was driving a pickup truck and traveling east on that same road. The driver of the sedan tried to pass a semi truck in front of him. He entered the eastbound lane of SR-60 and hit the pickup truck head-on.

The driver of the sedan died at the accident scene. The passenger, a 63-year-old woman, was airlifted to a local hospital, where she later died. The driver of the pickup truck and their passenger, a 37-year-old man from St. Petersburg, suffered minor injuries. The crash is still under investigation.

Liability in Head-on Crashes

A person is liable for a head-on accident if they were negligent. Negligence refers to carelessness or recklessness. Some forms of negligence that can lead to a head-on crash include speeding, distracted driving, drunk driving, drowsy driving, swerving to avoid an animal, driving in the wrong direction or driving on the wrong side of the road, unsafe passing, and making an illegal U-turn.

Besides negligence, there are a couple other elements that apply in head-on crashes, including:

  • Duty of care. Every driver has a legal obligation to stay safe and avoid causing harm to others. That includes being alert and sober and paying attention to the road. A driver is not exercising a duty of care if they do not follow these laws.
  • This element is pretty easy to prove in a car accident. As a victim, you must be able to prove that your injuries were directly caused by the defendant’s actions. For example, your injuries were caused by the other driver’s unsafe passing, which caused a head-on accident. 

Florida uses pure comparative negligence. This means that even if you were partly at fault for the accident, you can still recover compensation for your injuries. However, your compensation will be reduced by your percentage of liability. For example, if you were awarded $50,000 in damages and you were 20% at fault, your compensation will be reduced by 20%, or $10,000. 

Contact Us Today 

Head-on crashes are often deadly, with many causes by unsafe passing on two-lane roads. Drivers need to pass with care, which can be difficult on certain roads.

Involved in a head-on crash? Seek legal help from the Florida head-on collision attorneys at Meldon Law. We’ll help you deal with the aftermath of a catastrophic crash. Schedule a free consultation by filling out the online form or calling (800) 373-8000. We have three offices to serve you: Gainesville, Ocala, and Fort Lauderdale.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 - 2022 Meldon Law. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.