Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Personal Injury & DUI Attorneys > Gainesville DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearing Attorney

Gainesville DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings

Being arrested for a DUI is scary, but the steps you take immediately afterward are crucial. If you do not take certain actions within ten days, your driver’s license may be revoked. You must contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) within ten days to request an administrative review hearing. If you do not, your license will be automatically suspended. If you failed a breathalyzer test, your license will be automatically suspended for six months. If you refused a breathalyzer, that time is extended to one year. A Gainesville DUI driver’s license suspension hearings attorney can prepare you for the hearing.

Our Attorney Explains Why You Must Attend a DHSMV Hearing

In most cases, a DUI arrest will result in a driver’s license suspension of at least six months. If you have a prior history of refusing to submit to a chemical test, or you have been arrested for a DUI before, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to 18 months. After your license has been suspended, you only have ten days to contest the revocation, or there may be little you can do to get your license back before the suspension expires.

Our Attorney Can Help You Reinstate Your Driver’s License

Trying to reinstate your license can be a tedious process. You may have to pay high fees and attend several court hearings. After you have submitted your request for a hearing, the DHSMV will allow you to drive on a hardship license within 45 days of receiving your request. If you are successful, your driving privileges may be restored until the day of your court date for the DUI.

If you were arrested for drunk driving and you are not successful at contesting the revocation, you cannot drive for at least 30 days. If you have a previous arrest and have refused a chemical test, you cannot drive for at least 90 days.

Our Attorney Can Advise on Your Right to Waive a DHSMV Hearing

If you do not wish to attend a DHSMV hearing, you can waive your right to it and avoid the 30-day and 90-day ‘sit-out’ periods. If you waive this right, you will have to pay a license reinstatement fee and can then use a temporary business license immediately after your arrest. Avoiding the waiting period is ideal for some individuals because they have to use their license to go to work or for their living arrangements.

However, not everyone has the option to waive their right to a hearing. If you have a previous DUI arrest or conviction, or another alcohol-related offense, you cannot waive the DHSMV hearing.

Our DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings Attorney in Gainesville Can Prepare You for the Process

If you have been arrested for a DUI and now have to prepare for a hearing, our Gainesville DUI driver’s license suspension hearings attorney at Meldon Law can help. Call us today at 800-373-8000 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation so we can review your case.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 Meldon Law. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.