How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident in Florida
If you were in an auto accident in Florida and need a copy of your police report, you can get a copy from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). You must pay a $10 fee, plus an additional $2 convenience charge.
Conversely, you can contact the reporting police officer’s precinct. They can share how to get a crash report for your car accident, which may include downloading it online, sending an email, or visiting the station in person. You could also connect with a personal injury lawyer from Meldon Law. We can secure a copy of the accident report and pursue fair compensation.
You Can Get a Car Accident Crash Report From the FLHSMV
You need some information to request a copy of your police report from the FLHSMV. These details include:
- Your role in the accident. You must check off a box whether you were someone directly involved in a collision or a third-party source who wants the police report for other purposes.
- Why you want the police report. Are you requesting a copy of the accident report to file a claim? Or do you have another purpose? The FLHSMV wants to know.
- Identifying information. To get a police report, you’ll also have to list what state issued your driver’s license, along with your driver’s license ID number.
You may have to give other identifying information, such as your license plate number. Be sure to have this information before submitting your request to the FLHSMV, as this can streamline the process.
Your Car Accident Report Will Contain This Information
You may wonder why you need a copy of the crash report following your Florida car accident. This document can offer a wealth of information when it comes to determining fault and liability for the crash. It will offer insight into:
- Who was involved in the collision
- The makes, models, and years of the involved cars
- The contact information of the involved parties
- The time, date, and location of the incident
- Any relevant insurance information
There’s also room for the attending law enforcement officer to write down anything of note in the crash. For instance, if an intoxicated driver caused your accident, having this information in the police report could bolster your claim.
What if There Isn’t a Police Report?
If you suffered a collision and law enforcement didn’t come to the accident scene, then there isn’t a police report. It’s your obligation to report the collision to the police. This will generate a report that you can use later to bolster your case.
Here’s what you should know about this, per Florida law:
- You must file a police report if anyone was hurt or killed.
- You must also file a report if an involved car required towing.
- You have ten days from the date of the collision to file your report.
In the chaos of the collision, you may have forgotten to notify law enforcement about what happened. In that instance, you could benefit from working with our car accident attorneys. We can notify law enforcement of the incident and gather other evidence to supplement your claim.
Additional Evidence Can Bolster Your Personal Injury Case
The police report is just one piece of evidence that can support your injury claim. Additional supporting evidence can include:
- Photos and videos of the accident scene
- Information from third-party consultants
- Accident reconstruction data
- Eyewitness accounts
- Forensic data
- Each vehicle’s points of impact
When you entrust your case to a legal representative from Meldon Law, we can gather the information needed to build a strong case. You don’t have to worry about communicating with the involved parties or getting a police report for your car accident; we take care of everything.
What Measures Could Bolster My Car Accident Claim?
The following considerations are just that: considerations that could bolster your claim’s outcome. If possible, to strengthen your case, you may consider:
Collecting Supporting Information
Gather as much information as you can about the accident. This includes writing down everything you remember, including:
- The time, date, and location of the accident
- The names and contact information of all parties involved
- The involved cars’ makes, models, and license plate numbers
Documenting the Accident Scene
If your injuries allow, take photos of the accident scene, including damage to vehicles, road conditions, traffic signs, and any nearby landmarks. These images can prove useful when learning about your accident’s cause.
Seeking Medical Attention
It’s vital to seek medical care after suffering severe injuries. Not only does a doctor’s help allow you to reach maximum medical improvement, but it can generate much-needed information to bolster your case. Your imaging scan results and lab tests can go a long way in proving fault and liability.
Notifying Your Auto Insurance Company
Report your accident to your insurance company promptly and provide all pertinent information you have. Even if you didn’t cause the collision, your insurer wants to know about it. Plus, if you want to access your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, the insurance provider must have a record of what happened.
Consider Retaining a Personal Injury Lawyer to Handle Your Accident Claim
After an auto accident, the last thing you want to deal with is a complicated legal claim. You want this time to focus on healing and rebuilding your life. Look no further than Meldon Law for comprehensive legal help. We aim to secure financial compensation by:
- Investigating the traffic crash and gathering evidence
- Calculating the value of your losses
- Negotiating with your insurer to seek a fair settlement
- Answering your questions and walking you through the claims process
- Advising you on your legal options
- Requesting all case-related documentation
- Ensuring you file your accident lawsuit within the statute of limitations
- Representing you in court, if necessary
We can also request a copy of the police report to bolster your claim’s outcome.
Contact the Lawyers at Meldon Law for Help With Your Car Accident Case
If you suffered injuries in a car accident, we encourage you to speak to a personal injury attorney at Meldon Law. We can provide legal advice, protect your rights, and assist you with any possible legal claims. Call (352) 373-8000 to begin your initial consultation.