Close Menu

Ocala Weapons Crime Attorneys

When it comes to weapons offenses, Florida is probably one of the strictest—if not the strictest—around. When a firearm is used in a crime, the crime is enhanced and comes with serious penalties under the state’s 10-20-LIFE law— the first of its kind. You’ll have to face mandatory minimum sentences with no opportunity for early release. If you have been charged with a weapons offense, there’s a lot at stake. Contact an Ocala weapons crime attorney right away for aggressive legal representation.

What is Florida’s 10-20-LIFE Law?

Under the state’s 10-20-LIFE law, when a person uses a firearm to commit a crime, they face felony charges as well as enhanced penalties—even for a first offense. The penalties are:

  • 10 years if you had a firearm in your possession while committing a crime.
  • 20 years if you discharged the firearm while committing the crime.
  • 25 years to life if you injured or killed anyone while discharging the firearm.

When a person faces these sentences, they are required to serve the entire sentence day-for-day. They are not eligible for any form of early release and no part of the sentence may be deferred or suspended.

The law applies to any of the following crimes:

  • Murder
  • Aggravated assault
  • Aggravated battery
  • Aggravated stalking
  • Sexual battery
  • Robbery
  • Burglary
  • Arson
  • Kidnapping
  • Escape
  • Aggravated child abuse
  • Aggravated abuse of an elderly person or disabled adult
  • Unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive device or bomb
  • Carjacking
  • Home invasion robbery
  • Drug trafficking
  • Possession of a firearm by a felon
  • Aircraft piracy

Meldon Team

We are here for you 24/7

(Consultations are Free)

Call Us Now

Other Penalties Apply

That’s not all. On top of the 10-20-LIFE law, a person can face other mandatory prison sentences, including the following:

  • Three years in prison for aggravated assault with a firearm, aggravated assault on a police officer, aggravated assault on a person over the age of 65, and for felons who possess a firearm.
  • Five years in prison for aggravated battery on an officer.
  • Eight years in prison for possessing a semiautomatic firearm or machine gun while committing battery on a police officer or person over the age of 65.
  • Fifteen years in prison for possessing a semiautomatic gun or machine gun with a high-capacity magazine while committing one of the crimes listed above.

There are also minimum prison sentences for drug traffickers. They start at three years and increase to seven, 15 or 25 years, life, and even death. This depends on the type of drug and the amount. They are very serious and require the defense of a skilled and experienced gun offenses attorney.

Contact an Ocala Weapons Crime Attorney Today

As you can see, Florida doesn’t play around when it comes to weapons offenses. The state punishes these crimes very seriously, so you need a solid defense.

The punishment is very strict and there is no leniency. Don’t try to handle these offenses on your own. Get aggressive representation from the criminal defense attorneys at Meldon Law. Schedule a consultation with one of our Ocala weapons gun offenses attorneys today by calling (800) 373-3000.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn