Ocala DUI Arrest Defense Attorney
Motorists must be aware of drinking and driving laws before getting behind the wheel of a vehicle. However, we all make mistakes, and in Florida, this mistake can have a lot of consequences. If a police officer makes a traffic stop and has reason to believe that you are under the influence of alcohol or another substance, you could be arrested for a DUI charge. In Florida, a DUI can be a serious offense, sometimes even resulting in felony charges. This can permanently mar both your driving and criminal records. That’s why you need an Ocala DUI arrest defense attorney on your side to protect your legal rights and help you get the best outcome possible.
DUI Charges in Florida
A person can face one of many charges for driving under the influence in Florida. You can be convicted of a DUI if all of the following elements apply:
- You are in physical control of a vehicle.
- You are under the influence of alcohol, a chemical substance, or a controlled substance.
- You have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08
When people think of driving under the influence, they may think of alcohol consumption. However, driving under the influence can also mean being under the influence of illegal drugs, such as cocaine and heroin. Even being under the influence of marijuana is illegal, regardless of its legal status. Even being under the influence of prescription medications, such as painkillers and opioids, can be considered a DUI offense if it causes you to be intoxicated. If you are driving recklessly or your normal faculties are impaired, you could get a DUI for being under the influence of prescription drugs only, so be aware.
Normal facilities refer to:
- Listening comprehension
- Depth perception
Penalties for DUI
A DUI arrest comes with many penalties, including the following:
- Fines. For a first-time offense, the fine can range from $500 to $1,000. For a second offense, it can range from $1,000 to $2,000.
- Jail time. A first DUI conviction can result in up to six months in jail, while a second conviction can result in up to nine months in jail.
- Driver’s license suspension. A first-time DUI can result in a driver’s license suspension for 180 days to one year. If a second DUI occurs within five years, a person may have their driver’s license revoked for five years.
Contact an Ocala DUI Arrest Defense Attorney Today
A DUI arrest is no laughing matter. It can result in a variety of penalties and affect your driving privileges as well as everyday life. Multiple DUI offenses on your record can lead to enhanced penalties.
Protect your legal rights with help from the criminal defense attorneys at Meldon Law. We can assess your case and help reduce or even eliminate your penalties. To schedule a consultation with our Ocala DUI arrest defense attorneys, call (800) 373-3000.