Florida Rideshare Accident Attorneys
Rideshare companies, such as Lyft and Uber, have become some of the largest businesses in the country, and an extremely popular means of transportation. Uber and Lyft have been the subject of their fair share of controversy, however, including on the subject of who must pay when an Uber or Lyft driver is involved in a crash.
Getting compensation after a Florida rideshare crash isn’t always simple
When you’ve been involved in an accident with a Lyft or Uber driver, whether as a passenger in a rideshare car, another driver on the road, or even a pedestrian, getting the money you’re owed isn’t always straightforward. The amount of insurance benefits available to you will vary depending on the driver’s status at the time of the crash, which might be challenging to prove. Additionally, there may be more than one insurer who is liable for your injuries after the crash, adding a complicating factor to the pursuit of damages.
Rideshare accident attorneys you can trust with your case
The complex nature of claims after a rideshare accident makes it critical that you speak to an experienced accident attorney as soon as possible after an accident. The dedicated and trial-ready Florida rideshare accident attorneys at Meldon Law have the experience you need when seeking compensation for a rideshare accident.
Our attorneys have worked for insurers. We understand how to get results when filing a claim against massive insurance companies and their massive legal departments. Contact our team of Florida Uber and Lyft accident attorneys at Meldon Law for a free consultation on how we can help you get results.
Who is allowed to be a Florida Uber or Lyft driver, and what sort of insurance must they carry?
Uber and Lyft, as well as the State of Florida, place limits on who can be a driver for a rideshare company. There are also minimum insurance coverage amounts on all vehicles operating as rideshare cars. Florida law states that all candidates for rideshare driver positions submit to a background check upon applying to the companies, as well as every three years after being approved to drive. If the background check reveals any of the following crimes, the candidate will not be allowed to be an Uber or Lyft driver:
- Conviction of a serious driving offense (leaving the scene of an accident, DUI, etc) within the past five years
- Inclusion on the federal sex offender registry
- Conviction of driving on a suspended or revoked license within the past three years
Additionally, drivers must have a valid driver’s license in the US, as well as a valid vehicle registration. Uber and Lyft impose additional requirements to qualify as a driver, including that all drivers be at least 21 years old and that they have been licensed in the US for at least one year (or three if under 23, according to Uber). Uber and Lyft will also perform their own checks of drivers’ driving histories and reject candidates with certain violations on their records.
All Florida rideshare drivers, like any Florida driver, must carry a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, as well as an equal amount of property damage liability coverage. However, each rideshare driver must carry additional coverage that activates when the driver has their rideshare app on.
Once the app is on, but before the driver is carrying any passengers, the driver must have a policy that provides at least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per injured person and $100,000 per accident, as well as $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per crash. This form of coverage is often available as either an endorsement to an existing policy or a separate policy, depending on the insurance provider.
While some drivers attempt to use a personal insurance policy for this coverage without notifying their insurer that they’re using their vehicle for a commercial purpose, insurers might deny coverage or decline to renew an insurance policy upon learning that the customer was a rideshare driver.
What insurance coverage is available to victims of rideshare accidents?
Insurance coverage available after an accident with an Uber or Lyft driver all depends on whether the driver’s app was turned on or off, and whether or not the driver had (or would soon have) a paying passenger at the time of the accident.
- If the driver’s rideshare app was not on, then the driver’s personal insurance coverage will apply. This could be as little as $10,000 in PIP coverage and $10,000 in property damage coverage.
- If the driver’s rideshare app was on but they did not have a passenger assigned, then the driver’s $50,000/$100,000/$25,000 policy would be available to compensate any accident victims.
- If the driver’s rideshare app was on and they had been assigned a passenger (whether the driver was on their way to pick up the passenger or the passenger was in the vehicle), then the rideshare company’s insurance coverage would apply to the crash, which provides a minimum of $1 million in coverage for bodily injury and property damage.
While these rules make coverage appear clear-cut, complicating factors often arise when victims of rideshare accidents file claims. In some cases, a driver’s insurance coverage may apply in addition to the rideshare company’s coverage. If the Uber or Lyft driver argues that they were not at fault for the accident, but the victim disagrees, this will add an additional complication to obtaining benefits. Finally, there is the issue that insurers will always seek to pay as little as possible on any claim, leaving accident victims fighting for the benefits they’re owed.
Get Help After a Rideshare Car Accident in Florida
Don’t fight the insurers alone. Get help from seasoned Florida personal injury attorneys who understand how to obtain results for their clients. Contact the dedicated and determined Florida rideshare accident attorneys at Meldon Law for a consultation on your case.