Is Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Required In Florida?
You are not alone if you have questions about what insurance Florida requires. Here, our founder, Jeffrey Meldon, shares his wisdom on why sufficient insurance is of utmost importance if you are involved in a serious accident with injuries – no matter who causes the crash.
Whether Bodily Injury Liability (BI) coverage is required or not has two main areas of law to consider.
Bodily Injury Liability coverage is not required to drive an automobile in Florida legally. However, it can be if you have been convicted of a DUI. Under Florida Statue 324.023, Financial responsibility for bodily injury or death, you must have bodily injury insurance if you are convicted of a DUI. If you were convicted on or before October 1, 2007, the minimum requirement is $10,000 per person and $20,000 per incident. If you were convicted after October 1, 2007, the minimum required is $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. According to the Statute, you must have BI coverage for 3 years after the return of your driving privileges.
Suppose you choose to drive without BI coverage. In that case, it is important to know that Florida has a Florida Financial Responsibility Law, which requires that a person who is at fault for an accident must provide financial coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. This means that if you cause an accident that results in bodily injuries to another person(s), you must either have BI insurance or post a bond for the required amount of coverage. If this “responsibility” is unmet, you can lose your driving privileges. You will also be required to make financial arrangements to pay for any judgment against you for property damage and bodily injuries before you can get your driver’s license reinstated.
As an accident attorney who has seen the devastation caused by inadequate insurance coverage, I not only advise that you have bodily injury liability but that you have more than the minimum to protect yourself and your assets fully. Specifically, I recommend a minimum of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.
Call Meldon Law Today
I am local accident attorney Jeffrey Meldon, and I strongly believe that public education is the first step in preventing or recovering from a serious accident. My staff and I take pride in our experience and expertise, and the results we win for our clients.
- Auto Insurance Coverage: Laws, Recommendations, Factors and Tips for Florida Drivers
- What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage and why do I need it?
- Four Reasons You Should Have Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Coverage
I am local accident attorney Jeffrey Meldon and I strongly believe that public education is the first step in the prevention of and/or recovery from a serious accident. My office and I take pride in our work, and the results we get for our clients.
Meldon Law is a regional law firm that is located in Gainesville, Florida. We are personal injury attorneys, litigators and trial attorneys that have been working to get accident victims the justice they deserve for over 40 years throughout North Florida and all over Florida. Accidents involving a car crash, truck wreck, motorcycle, ATVs, bicycle, pedestrian accidents, and dog bites, slip and falls, medical malpractice, and criminal defense are all included in our practice.
For more information on how we can help you, or with any other question you may have, feel free to contact our office at 800-373-8000.