Ocala Hit and Run Crashes Attorney Attorney
Motorists have a duty to stop and exchange information after getting in a crash. While most do, many do not, for various reasons. Getting into a car accident can be a scary situation, and with so much adrenaline rushing through our bodies, our first instinct may be to flee the scene. However, this is illegal and can lead to criminal charges. If you have been involved in this type of car crash, contact an Ocala hit and run crashes attorney today.
What is a Hit and Run Crash?
Florida law requires you to stop at the scene after being involved in an accident. You must then provide your name, address, car registration, driver’s license, and auto insurance information to the other party. You must stop every time, even if you think the crash was minor and simply resulted in property damage. If the accident resulted in injury, you are also obligated to provide medical assistance to the victim. You cannot just leave the victim to die. This means you must call 911 and try your best to help the victim. Failure to engage in these actions can cause you to face criminal charges for hit or run, or leaving an accident scene.
Penalties for Hit and Run Crashes
Depending on the situation, a hit and run crash in Florida may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. When only property damage is involved, leaving an accident scene is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. The punishment may include a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. When injuries are involved, fleeing an accident scene is a third-degree felony. The punishment may include a $5,000 fine and up to five years in prison. When a person flees an accident scene involving death, it becomes a first-degree felony, punishable by a $10,000 fine and up to 30 years in prison.
Why Do Drivers Flee the Scene?
There are various reasons why drivers would flee the scene of a car accident, including the following:
- The driver does not have auto insurance or current registration.
- The motorist has a suspended driver’s license.
- The motorist is driving a stolen vehicle.
- The driver is carrying drugs or illegal items.
- The driver is intoxicated.
- The driver has just committed a crime and is fleeing police.
- There is a warrant for the driver’s arrest
- The driver is an illegal immigrant.
- The driver may be confused or not even know that they hit someone/something.
- The driver may not think they need to stay, since the accident was so minor.
Contact an Ocala Hit and Run Crashes Attorney Today
When an accident is caused by a hit and run driver, the situation becomes more complex. If you are a victim, your options for compensation may be limited unless you have proper insurance coverage.
Don’t handle this type of accident on your own. The personal injury attorneys at Meldon Law can help you find sources of compensation so you can pay for damages. Get the physical and financial recovery you deserve. Contact an Ocala hit and run crashes attorney today by calling (800) 373-3000.