Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Personal Injury & DUI Attorneys > Lake City DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings Attorney

Lake City DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings Attorneys

There is a lot at stake if you are charged with a DUI, and it is natural to become so concerned about your future that you overlook the important steps you must now take. One of those steps is to call the Florida DMV. You must contact the Department within 10 days if you want to ask for a driver’s license suspension hearing.

If you fail to request this hearing, they will automatically suspend your driver’s license. If you took a breath test and failed, you will face license suspension of at least six months. Refusing a breath test will result in a suspension of 12 months. A Lake City DUI driver’s license suspension hearings attorney can walk you through the process and give you the best chance of success.

Attendance at a DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearing is Crucial

In the vast majority of DUI cases, a person has their driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 6 months. A previous DUI arrest on your criminal record, or a previous refusal to allow law enforcement to take a blood, breath, or urine test, you may face a driver’s license suspension of 18 months. You only have 10 days to challenge the revocation and if you do not take action within that time, you may not be able to restore your driver’s license until the suspension period has expired.

Hardship Licenses and DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings

When trying to restore your driving privileges, you may face many challenges. You may have to appear in court multiple times, and pay high fines. It is important to submit your request to the DHSMV within the allotted ten days because once the agency receives your request, they will grant you a hardship driver’s license within 45 days of your request. A hardship license will also allow you to drive to certain places, such as work or school. You can retain your hardship license until the day you have to appear in court for the criminal charges.

When to Refuse a DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearing

For some individuals, it makes sense to waive their right to the driver’s license suspension hearing. If you waive your right to this hearing, you do not have to wait until the sit-out period expires, which can be for as much as 30 or 90 days. By waiving this right, you can receive a business license, temporarily, after paying a reinstatement fee. Unfortunately, not everyone can waive their right to this hearing. This is not an option if you have been previously arrested or convicted of a DUI or any other offense related to alcohol, such as public drunkenness.

Call Our Lake City DUI Driver’s License Suspension Hearings Attorney Today

Preparing for a license suspension is overwhelming for many. At Meldon Law, our Lake City DUI driver’s license suspension hearings attorney will ensure you are fully prepared so you have the best chance of getting your license back. Call us now at 800-373-8000 or fill out our online form to request a free case review with our skilled attorney.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 - 2022 Meldon Law. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.