Close Menu
Home > Hamilton County Personal Injury Attorney > Hamilton County DUI Attorney

Hamilton County DUI Attorney

All motorists are aware that drinking and driving is against the law. It’s also unsafe. Just one alcohol drink can make it harder to drive by affecting judgment and reaction times.

Many people get behind the wheel anyway, They put not only their lives but also the lives of others at risk. Numerous Florida residents are injured or killed by drunk drivers.

Even if a drunk driver does not cause an accident, they can still get arrested. Under Florida law, drivers can be found guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. A person can be found guilty of a DUI even if their BAC is below the legal limit, if their ability to drive is impaired. Also, a DUI does not solely include alcohol. It can also refer to any illegal drug or substance that impairs a person’s driving ability.

Because of the strict laws involved, you need the right legal help on your side. A Hamilton County DUI attorney at Meldon Law can assist you with your case by challenging your DUI and providing other forms of defense.

Florida DUI Penalties

DUIs are taken seriously in Florida. A person convicted of this crime can face a variety of penalties, including the following:

  • You will be required to pay a fine of up to $1,000. If your BAC was above .15, or you were driving with a minor in the vehicle, the fine could go up to $2,000.
  • Jail time. You can face 6-9 months in jail, depending on your BAC.
  • License revocation. Your driver’s license will be revoked for a period of six months to one year.
  • Community service. For a first offense, you will be required to perform 50 hours of community service.
  • Your vehicle will be impounded for 10 days.

Meldon Team

We are here for you 24/7

(Consultations are Free)

Call Us Now

Felony DUI

DUI offenses are typically misdemeanors. However, there are several ways in which DUI charges can be elevated to felonies.

  • Serious injury. A DUI accident that results in serious injury can result in a felony DUI.
  • Fatal accident. If you kill someone while intoxicated, you can be charged with manslaughter, which is a felony.
  • Third DUI in 10 years. A third DUI in a 10-year period can be charged as a third-degree felony, which can result in a $5,000 fine and five years in prison.
  • Four or more DUIs. Once you reach your fourth DUI, that DUI and every subsequent one is charged as a felony.

Contact a Hamilton County DUI Attorney Today

We all make mistakes from time to time. Drinking and driving is a serious mistake that can have lasting repercussions.

The Hamilton County DUI attorneys at Meldon Law can give your case the attention it deserves. Let us help you avoid license loss, fines, jail time, and other penalties. Fill out the online form or call (800) 373-8000 to schedule a consultation with our office.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn