Ocala Theft Crime Attorneys
Theft is a common crime but that doesn’t make it a minor one. While most people think of petty theft—such as small items—some cases of theft involve thousands of dollars in stolen property, such as vehicles. In this case, theft can be a felony, even though it is most often charged as a misdemeanor. You need a solid defense to reduce or even eliminate your penalties. That’s why it’s important to have an Ocala theft crime attorney fight for your legal rights so you can get the best outcome.
Theft Penalties in Florida
The penalties for theft will depend on the type of theft, which is typically based on the amount stolen.
- Second-degree petit theft. This is the most minor theft offense in Florida. Also known as petty theft, it refers to stolen property valued at under $100. This is a second-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by 60 days in jail and a fine of $500.
- First-degree petit theft. This is for stolen property valued between $100 and $750. This is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a $1,000 fine and one year in prison.
- Third-degree grand theft. This is a third-degree felony and includes theft of wills, firearms, motor vehicles, commercially farmed animals, a stop sign, anhydrous ammonia, controlled substances, an installed fire hydrant, more than 2,000 pieces of citrus fruit, property taken from a construction site, and property valued between $750 and $20,000. The punishment is a fine of up to $5,000 and five years in prison.
- Second-degree grand theft. This crime involves the theft of:
- Emergency law enforcement or medical equipment valued at $300 or more.
- Property valued between $5,000 and $20,000 stolen during a riot or looting.
- Any property valued between $20,000 and $100,000.
- Cargo valued at under $50,000 that has entered intrastate or interstate commerce.
This crime is a second-degree felony and is punishable by 15 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
- First-degree grand theft. This the most serious level of theft and it involved the theft of:
- Any property valued at $100,000 or more.
- Cargo valued at more than $50,000 that has entered intrastate or interstate commerce.
- Grand theft in which a person uses a motor vehicle (other than the getaway car) in the crime.
- A semitrailer used by a law enforcement officer.
- Any grand theft that causes more than $1,000 in damage to personal property.
This crime is a first-degree felony and is punishable by 30 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
Contact an Ocala Theft Crime Attorney Today
If you are facing theft charges in Florida, there’s a lot on the line, including your freedom, your reputation, and your future. Avoid taking a plea deal, as you’ll end up pleading guilty to theft, and you’ll have a criminal record for life.
The criminal defense attorneys at Meldon Law will be able to review your case and fight for your rights. Let us help you get the best outcome possible. Call (800) 373-3000 to schedule a consultation with our Ocala theft attorneys today.