Three Strikes, You’re Out? Consequences of a Third Offense Florida DUI
A Florida driving-under-the-influence charge can carry significant penalties that can impact you financially, as well as create hardships in your personal life. You may lose your license for an extended period of time and face fines and other expenses related to the charge. If you are facing a third conviction, however, your potential losses are more severe. For this reason, it is very important to contact an experienced Florida DUI lawyer right away after an arrest or charge.
After hiring an attorney, your legal professional will do his or her best to protect your rights to the extent possible. Ideally, this will result in reduced or less severe consequences. Generally, the consequences of a third offense DUI in Florida include:
- Receiving a third degree felony if the third DUI charge was within ten years of the last conviction.
- A fine between $2,000 and $5,000 if the blood alcohol level was less than .15.
- A fine of a minimum $4,000 if the blood alcohol level was more than .15 and was within ten years of the last conviction.
- Suspension of driver’s license for a period of ten years if the blood alcohol level was within ten years of the last conviction.
- Use of ignition interlock device for two years.
- Vehicle is impounded if the blood alcohol level was within ten years of the last conviction.
If you are convicted of a third offense DUI in Florida, you may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement of your driver’s license after two years of a suspended sentence. However, you will be required to complete DUI school.
To learn more about what you can do if you are facing a DUI charge in Florida, view our free guide: Ways to Possibly Avoid a DUI Charge or Conviction. For more information about multiple DUI convictions, contact an experienced Florida DUI attorney today at Jeffrey Meldon & Associates: 800-373-8000. We offer a free initial consultation.