Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Personal Injury & DUI Attorneys > Florida Motorcycle Laws

Florida Motorcycle Laws

Just as state law outlines certain rules of the road for drivers, it also stipulates certain laws motorcyclists must obey. It is critical that all bikers in The Sunshine State understand Florida motorcycle laws, as some of them do differ from what other motorists have to follow. If you are a biker and you do not follow the motorcycle laws of the state, there is a chance you could be found at fault for an accident. Our Lake City motorcycle accident attorney knows the laws that govern bikes in the state and can explain how they apply to your case.

Insurance Under Florida Motorcycle Laws

Under the motorcycle laws of the state, there are two types of insurance coverage that apply to motorcycles. All motorcyclists in Florida are required to carry liability insurance, which will cover them in the event that they are found at-fault for a crash. The minimum amounts outlined by state law are $20,000 in bodily injury, $30,000 for an entire accident, and $10,000 in property damage.

Not all motorcyclists in the state are required to carry medical insurance coverage, but some are. If you are over the age of 21 and decide to ride a motorcycle without a helmet, you must purchase at least $10,000 worth of this type of coverage. Any rider under the age of 21 must wear a helmet.

Headlights Under Florida Motorcycle Laws

All motorcycles in the state must be equipped with at least one headlight. Bikers must use the headlight any time they are on their motorcycle, including during daylight hours. If a biker does not use a headlight and is involved in a crash, the lack of a light can be used against them in a personal injury claim.

Structure of Bikes Under Florida Motorcycle Laws

All motorcycles must be equipped with certain parts under state law. Footrests, signals, headlights, stop lamps, and a seat and a saddle for the operator are all required under Florida law. Additionally, state law defines a motorcycle as any vehicle that has three wheels or less.

Endorsement Under Florida Motorcycle Laws

Motorcyclists are not required to carry a regular driver’s license under the motorcycle laws in Florida. However, all bikers must obtain an endorsement. To receive an endorsement, you will have to take a special motorcycle riding safety course.

Roadway Use Under Florida Motorcycle Laws

Although drivers do not always respect bikers, state law is very clear that motorcyclists have the same right to use the roadway just as drivers do. Bikers can use one full lane, and they can also share that lane with another biker if they choose. Lane splitting, which is when a motorcycle travels between lanes of stopped or slow-moving traffic, is not allowed. Lastly, all bikers must follow all other rules of the road, including complying with traffic signs and signals.

Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Lake City Can Fully Explain the Laws of the State

It is crucial that all motorcyclists in the state understand Florida’s motorcycle laws. At Meldon Law, our Lake City motorcycle accident attorneys can explain what those are, and how they apply to your injury case. Call us today at 800-373-8000 or fill out our online form to schedule a free case review.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 - 2022 Meldon Law. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.