Firefighter Under DUI Manslaughter Investigation In Broward County
While firefighters and other emergency personnel work to save lives, one firefighter in Coral Springs is under investigation for taking a life in March. On St. Patrick’s Day, a truck crashed into a group of motorcyclists who were stopped on the Florida Turnpike and one man did not survive his injuries. Reports indicate that a 24-year-old firefighter who works in Coral Springs is under investigation as the driver of the truck. Documents show the driver admitted to having some drinks and dozing off at the wheel. The officer at the scene also reported detecting signs of intoxication.
At this time, there is no indication that any criminal charges have been issued. In fact, the firefighter is suspended with pay and the Fire Chief reminded readers that this is “just an allegation at this point.” However, not everyone who is suspected of driving under the influence (DUI) or causing serious or fatal injuries has this same experience. In most cases, police would arrest a driver on the spot with little or no time to process what is happening.
DUI Charges in Florida
Everyone should be well aware that drinking and driving is against the law in Florida. However, there are a variety of criminal charges under the law that may apply to a case involving DUI. The following are some examples of DUI charges that drivers in South Florida may face.
- First DUI – A DUI charge is a misdemeanor for a first offense in Florida, with penalties including six months in jail, one-year license suspension, one year of probation, $500 fine, vehicle impoundment, and more. If a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.15 percent or there was a child in the car, the penalties for a DUI can be enhanced.
- Second DUI – The penalties for this misdemeanor charge include nine months in jail, $1000 fine, and an ignition interlock device on your car. If this charge is within five years of your first offense, the penalties are increased and include a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail and a five-year license suspension.
- Felony DUI – If you receive a third DUI charge within ten years, it can be charged as a felony. Possible consequences include five years in prison, $5,000 fine, and a license suspension for ten years. Enhanced penalties for a felony DUI charge include a mandatory $4,000 fine.
- DUI Manslaughter – If you are accused of killing someone while driving under the influence, you can be charged with a second-degree felony. This charge comes with a mandatory prison sentence of four years or more, up to 15 years in prison, a permanent license suspension, and more.
You Need the Right Gainesville DUI Defense Attorney Handling Your Case
No matter what type of DUI charge you face, you need a highly skilled Gainesville DUI defense attorney representing you. The legal team at Meldon Law has handled many DUI cases in South Florida, so please call 800-373-8000 or contact us online to learn more about how we can assist you.